Shock, then sadness, now anger…

Why does LGBTI equality matter? Orlando. 
I’ve been afraid for my safety, my life, my career, and more recently for all that again for my kids, for as long as I can remember. I’ve been fighting for it for as long as I can remember. I am still not equal. I am angry, and tired, and angry I’m tired and tired of being angry. 

Equality matters because without it bigots feel authorized to walk into a gay club and gun people down. Equality matters because without it people feel authorized to throw gay men off buildings, ‘correctively’ rape lesbians, forcibly sex change gay men, and throw transgender women into male prisons to be brutalised. 

Equality matters because there are people right now here in ‘Europe’s most LGBTI positive country’ who feel afraid to be out, who are harassed and discriminated against. Equality matters because if not here then where? Equality matters because if not us then who? Equality matters because for all our advances in Scotland too many of us still experience prejudice or feel afraid to be out at work

Equality matters because we are not equal. Not yet, not always, not all of us, not everywhere. Equality matters because laws and rights don’t guarantee it. Equality matters because Orlando.  

It’s not over till it’s over for all of us, always, everywhere, all the time. Love is not love. Not yet. But let’s try here. Let’s make it here. Let’s make Scotland the place where love is love at last. Let’s make Scotland the place where equality matters.